Carl Otto Schander  John Behan RHA  Marie Hildrik  Liam Jones  Eugene Conway  Elizabeth O'Kane  Veronica J Wallis RUA  Joy Thorpe  Katie Sweetman  Mary Fitzgerald

Kilcock Art Gallery

Liam Jones 2016  November 2015  Manus Walsh 2015  Josephine Grant 2015  Sarah Corner 2014
Fergus Lyons 2013  Patrick Cahill 2013  Christmas 2012  Trevor Geoghegan 2012  Sarah Corner / Michael Flaherty 2012
More Exhibitions....

John Behan RHA

John Behan has work in the following exhibitions:

View all John Behan's work

Winter 2011

Group Show 2010

John Behan RHA / Mary Rohan 2008

Christmas Show 2007

Summer Exhibition 2007

Summer Exhibition 2006


Born in Dublin in 1938, and now living and working in Galway where he continues to vary his style of expression, John Behan RHA is firmly established as a sculptor of international stature. After an apprenticeship in metal work and welding, the foundations for Behan's success were laid in the sixties, when he trained in London and Oslo and began to exhibit widely. He was a founder member of the New Artists' group in 1962 and Dublin's innovative Project Art Centre in Dublin in 1967. He was a co-founder of the Dublin Art’s Foundry in 1970.
He has been awarded many honours over the years and became a Member of the Royal Hibernian Academy in 1990, having been an Associate of the Academy since 1973. He is also a member of Aosdána. Behan is celebrated for his early bull sculptures - described by playwright Brian Friel as “enormously solid artefacts, 4-square on the earth, confident, assured, executed to a point of absolute completion”. In a general sense he can be credited with playing a major part in the development of sculpture in Ireland over the last fifty years. In June 2000 he was awarded an honorary doctorate from the National University of Ireland Galway and on the same day his large commissioned sculpture, ‘Twin Spires’, was also unveiled there.
In 1999 a film documentary of John Behan's work entitled 'Famine Ship' was broadcast in Ireland and the U.K. and was distributed in North America by The Cinema Guild Inc. and the rest of the world by Network Television. The poet and Nobel Laureate, Seamus Heaney has said of the artist: "There is something psychologically salubrious about John Behan. It is as if you are encountering what the Upanishads call the ancient self, something previous to an underlying individual character, some kind of psychic bedrock."
John has exhibited in all major Irish Exhibitions since the sixties. He has had many major commissions and his work is included in numerous and prestigious private collections throughout the world.
Notable sculptures include ‘Arrival’, commissioned by the Irish Government and presented to the United Nations in 2000, which is proudly sited outside the UN buildings in New York and ‘Wings of the World’ in Shenzhen, China, 1991. In 1997 John Behan's sculpture of the 'Coffin Ship' in Westport, Co Mayo was unveiled by Mary Robinson, then President of Ireland, to mark the 150th anniversary of The Great Famine.
The sculptor has seen his work included in the private collections of Mary McAleese, President of Ireland; Mary Robinson, UN High Commissioner; Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands; and former U.S. President Bill Clinton and his wife Hillary. Notable public collections include The Hugh Lane and Crawford Municipal Galleries and The National Gallery of Ireland and the Arts Councils of Ireland North and South.
Two major commissions completed most recently include, a monument to commemorate the flight of the earls at Rathmullan, Co. Donegal which was unveiled by President Mary McAleese on September 14th 2007 and the casting of a six metre bull in bronze for a private client in Co. Meath. This was the biggest animal sculpture ever undertaken in Ireland.

Kilcock Art Gallery

Mark Ainsworth  Henrietta Alexander  Jean Bardon  Kamila Bassioni  Orla Bates  John Behan RHA  Carmel Benson  Mike Bernard  Martin Bernon  D Blaodeu
Brian Bourke  Patrick Bradley  Colm Brennan  John Brobbel RBA  Deborah Brown HRUA  Linda Brunker  Phyllis Burke  Joe Butler  Emer Byrne  Patrick Cahill
Anna Campbell  Paddy Campbell  Merce Canadell  Louisa Casas  Orla Clancy  Susan Coleman  Michael Coleman  Eamon Colman  Eugene Conway  Sarah Corner
Brian Cregan  Jackie Crooks  Jack Cudworth  Susan Cuffe  Jarlath Daly  Fiona Darragh  Gary Devon ARUA  Aisling Dolan  Nicholas Dolan  Paddy Donaghy
Jack Donovan  Paul Doran  Grainne Dowling  Lucy Doyle  David DuBose  Ana Duncan  Joe Dunne ARHA  Susan Early  James English RHA  Marie Fallon
Camilla Fanning  Brian Ferran  Mary Fitzgerald  Mike Fitzharris  Michael Flaherty  Aidan Flanagan  Fr Henry Flanagan OP  Fergal Flanagan  Andrew Folan RHA  Liezbeth Fonkert
Mary Frazer  Edward Freeney  Michael Gemmell  Trevor Geoghegan  Tom Glendon  Philip Goss  Josephine Grant  Terence Gravett  Paul Guilfoyle  Tony Gunning
Frank Hallinan Flood  Judith Henihan  Des Hickey  Leo Higgins  Kelly Hood  James Horan  Liam Jones  Carl Jones  Patricia Jorgensen  Katsuya
Eamonn Keenan  Jo Kelley  Joseph Kelly  Glynis Kidson  Simon Knowles  Peter Knuttel  Jonathan Knuttel  Janet Lancaster  Anna Marie Leavy  Dorothy Ledwith
Louise Leonard  Maria Levinge  Noel Lewis  Bob Lynn  Fergus Lyons  Rosi Macauley  Cecil Maguire  Jerry Marjoram  Fiona Marron  Fidelma Massey
Angela Maximova  Therese McAllister  Pat McCabe  Liam McCloskey  Ruth McDonnell  Niamh McGowan  Hilda McInerney  Anne McKenna  Michael McWilliams  TJ Miles
Aoife Miscella  Rosemary Mitchell  Peter Monaghan  Nicola Morrin  Niall Naessens  Leonora Neary  George Oakley  Seamus O'Byrne  Eoin O'Connor  Ruth O'Donnell
Taigh O'Donoghue  Anastasia O'Donoghue  Michael O'Donovan  Elizabeth O'Kane  GeneviĆ©ve Olivier  Brian O'Loughlin  Tony O'Malley HRHA  Margaret O'Malley  Mary Rose O'Neill  James Osborne
Vida Pain  Nina Patterson  Sioban Piercy  Corinne Pissaro  Patrick Pye HRHA  Tracy Quinn  Bob Quinn  Zita Reilhill  Mary Rohan  Pia Rossi
Michael Rowley  Eithne Ryan  Carl Otto Schander  Pauline Scott  Deirdre Shanley  Neil Shawcross  Vincent Sheridan  Mark Simpson  Joseph Sloan  Pieter Sluis
Fiona Smith Darragh  Rose Stapleton  Norman Styles  Tracy Sweeney  Katie Sweetman  Adrienne Symes  Francis Tansey  Joy Thorpe  Lucy Turner  Dominique Van den Broeck
Alexandra Van Tuyll  Stephen Vaughan  Mary Jane Vernier  Veronica J Wallis RUA  Sam Walsh  George Walsh  Manus Walsh  Kenneth Webb  Paul Wilson  

Please contact the gallery directly for all enquiries.
Kilcock Art Gallery, School Street, Kilcock, County Kildare, Ireland.
Phone: see gallery hours below
Fax: +353 (0)1 628 4293    email:      skype us
gallery hours: By Appointment only until Autumn 2016.
Kindly phone or email Breda for appointment to view or for information regarding artists & exhibitions + 353 86 2578283

Visit Kilcock Art Gallery on facebook and keep up to date with events